My newest travel watercolor sketchbook kit

Travel watercolor sketchbook kit

Travel Watercolor Sketchbook Kit

As a sketchbook artist,  I love to carry a sketchbook with me everywhere I go. I usually have at least one sketchbook stashed in my somewhat roomy purse and so finding tools that are compact yet flexible are an essential part of successfully being ready whenever the opportunity strikes.

Pocket palette from art-toolkit.com

Pocket Palette from Art-Toolkit.com

I have tried many travel watercolor palettes from all the reputable brands and my own homemade variations. Two of my favorites has been the Winsor & Newton and Koi (by Sakura) travel watercolor kits (can be viewed here). While I still like these both for different reasons, sometimes all I really want is the super simple essentials because anything more can be a bit bulky in my purse. (Although I swear I probably only carry one so I can carry my art supplies and what ever my son want to pawn off on me while we are out.)

Recently, I found the perfect little watercolor palette kit from an amazing artist  Expeditionary Artist Maria Coryell-Martin. I could do a whole blog post on this amazing artist and her journeys. I highly recommend you check out her site( after you read mine of course 🙂 ) by clicking on her name above. Maria Coryell-Martin has developed the perfect little watercolor travel palette that will literally fit into your pocket.

Christmas Stockings - watercolor and ink in Moleskine by Rebecca J Stahr

Christmas Stockings
Watercolor and Ink in Moleskine
© Rebecca Stahr

The palette features a mixing surface, 14 removable pans on a magnetic base, and measures approximately 3 5/8″ x 2 1/2″. The palette is packaged in a reusable cloth drawstring pouch. Additional refill pans are available as well as jumbo pans. The Pocket Palette is also part of a Art Toolkit sketching supply system. All these items can be found at http://art-toolkit.com.

I use my own folio that when zipped shut holds my watercolor Moleskine and drawing/painting tools perfectly. At the moment in my palette is a very simple mix of colors:

  • French Ultramarine Blue
  • Permanent Rose
  • New Gamboge
  • Permanent Alizarin Crimson
  • Winsor Green
  • Indigo
  • Ivory Black
  • Permanent White Gouache
  • Burnt Sienna
  • Burnt Umber

Probably could do with just the first three but I like the others in there for convenience depending if I just want to do a limited color sketch or full sketch. Plus, I like using Permanent Alizarin Crimson + Winsor Green to make a richer black than the Ivory Black.

What is in your sketchbook kit?

4 thoughts on “My newest travel watercolor sketchbook kit

  1. Thank you for writing about your sketchbook kit. I am about to travel for a bit and want to take all the necessary items with me in order to sketch. I bought a moleskin notebook and micron pens. I will definitely checkout the palette that you mention. How do you carry your water? Did I miss this information on your blog? A friend suggested small yogurt containers filled with water. One gets dirty and you can begin to use the 2nd and 3rd to clean your brush. Would love to know what you think? Marian

    Like

    • Marian, Thanks so much for stopping and reading my blog. I use a waterbrush which holds water in the handle and wipe it occasionally with a paper towel as I squeeze a tiny bit of water out. It works great and since the sketchbook isn’t major wet patches of color, I have yet to run out of water.

      Like

Leave a Reply

