Out With the Old…What is Your New?

Santa Ornament Sketch, Watercolor and Ink in Moleskine - Rebecca Stahr © 2014

Santa Ornament Sketch, Watercolor and Ink in Moleskine – Rebecca Stahr © 2014

This coming weekend, we pack away all of our holiday decorations. The weather has been unbelievably cold and snowy and this weekend is going to be in the negative digits. Unfortunately, this is going to make getting the outdoor decorations a blustery challenge.

Usually by the time the holidays are over, I am ready to see it all go. I think for me packing up everything is somewhat symbolic of the phrase, “Out with the old and in with the new.” By this time, I am usually excited for a fresh new year and its possibilities and new goals. This year is no different.

I think this is the same reason I am fascinated by seasonal and life cycles. I love how the earth renews itself. Weather it is nature or nature reclaiming man made objects back to the earth through rust and decay.   I also love the perfectness of the earth cycles. All of nature knows when it is time to rest and when it is time to produce.

I’ve learned a lot from taking the time to observe this. I’ve learned to slow down and pay attention to this process and mimic it in my own life and I have felt the consequences when I don’t. It is a very healing and reflective process and my body needs this. We can’t keep running on overdrive without physical and mental breakdown. We aren’t made that way. The laws of nature do apply to us as well.

This year, one of my goals is to honor that process in a deeper way. I’ve told you that I usually create an intention word that guides my year. This year, I have decided to create seasonal intentions as well.

Every morning, I take the time to sit and reflect and journal. As part of that journaling process, I plan on setting my intention for that day as well as a thought of gratitude. Since each day is a blank slate, a fresh start full of new beginnings, this will be the perfect place to reinforce those seasonal intentions with daily action. Will I be perfect in this action? No, there will be days, maybe even weeks that may slip by. But as I said, each day is a fresh new start every time the sun rises and there are unwritten moments ready for the taking.

How will you bring your intentions and dreams into being in the new year?

6 thoughts on “Out With the Old…What is Your New?

Leave a Reply

