This Week in my Sketchbook

Every Wednesday my son and I have our little mom/son time after school at a little coffee shop.

Coffee Shop Sketching
Micron Pen in Moleskine Sketchbook

Coffee Shop Sketching #2
Micron Pen in Moleskine Sketchbook

I’ve never had a persimmon. They caught my eye in the produce section and besides being cute I am going to try them as soon as they ripen. For now I will draw their pretty little petal-looking leaves.

Persimmons
Micron Pen in Moleskine Sketchbook

My car suddenly decided to act up. It wouldn’t accelerate from a complete stop. I found that out trying to turn right into traffic. Thank goodness the other cars were far enough away. Luckily it was a quick fix and I am back and running.

Waiting at the Car Repair Shop
Micron Pen in Moleskine Sketchbook

I bought a bunch of sunflowers to brighten my dreary fall days. I was planning on painting them at their peak. I only managed to get some good reference photos for a future painting. As they faded though, they still had a unique beauty as their petals held on and became very sculptural. I am just as fascinated by nature when it is in full glory as when it starts it’s process of decay.

Wilted Sunflower
6×9 – Watercolor on 140# watercolor paper

7 thoughts on “This Week in my Sketchbook

Leave a Reply

