Weekend Getaway Sketches and Our Treasure Hunt Finds

This past weekend we went away for a final getaway weekend before the school season starts up. We stayed at the Marriott Lincolnshire Resort and brought the boy to see the matinee “Aladdin” at their theater there. The rest of the time was spent swimming in the pool and me sketching and reading poolside.

Lincolnshire Resort Indoor Pool

At the Pool Sketching

The day we left we decided to take a drive out to Woodstock for lunch and to do some “treasure hunting” as we like to call it at the local antique stores. My son has picked up on this pastime and we like to look for little treasures we can draw, etc. Woodstock, IL is a cute old town where they filmed the movie “Groundhog Day.”

We found a great place for lunch in the square called Expressly Leslie that had a great variety of Middle Eastern Vegetarian food. The bonus for me was a large majority of that was also gluten-free vegan. I felt like a kid in a candy store with all my choices. I will definitely be finding an excuse to go back there again.

Woodstock Antiquing Sketch

8 thoughts on “Weekend Getaway Sketches and Our Treasure Hunt Finds

  1. Really nice pages, Rebecca. I particularly like Woodstock drawings and the layout is fabulous. (My son and I don’t eat wheat – so I know exactly what you mean when you find somewhere with lots of choices on the menu!)
    Sue

    Like

Leave a Reply

